Inaugural Class Chair & HBCU National Center Ambassador

Anyiah Chambers joined the HBCU National Center for the first time in fall 2021. During her semester in Washington, D.C. Chambers interned for Congresswoman Nanette Barragán (CA-44) and became very involved with the HBCU NC, representing the National Center at fundraising events and the inauguration of Lisa Matthews as president of the National Press Club.

After returning to Kentucky State University to complete her sophomore year of college, Chambers received a summer internship with the Department of Homeland Security. Since her return to D.C. she was named an HBCU Scholar by the White House Initiatives on HBCUs. She continues to act as an ambassador to Congressional offices and corporate partners. If you would like to reach Ms. Chambers, please contact HBCUNC@InternsDC.com.

In 2022, grants to the following institutions were announced at the National Center Reception hosted by Ambassador, Anyiah Chambers, and the Hon. Eleanor Holmes Norton:

  • Alabama A&M State University, Dr. Daniel Wims
  • Alabama State University, Dr. Quinton Ross, Jr.
  • Albany State University, President Marion Fedrick
  • Allen University, Dr. Ernest McNealey
  • Arkansas Baptist College, President Regina Favors
  • Atlanta University Center Consortium, Dr. Said Sewell
  • Benedict College, Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis
  • Bennett College, President Suzanne Walsh
  • Bishop State Community College, President Olivier Charles
  • Chicago State University, President Zaldwaynaka Scott
  • Clinton College, Dr. Lester McCorn
  • Coppin State University, Dr. Anthony Jenkins
  • Denmark Technical College, Dr. Willie Todd, Jr.
  • Dillard University, Dr. Rochelle Ford
  • Edward Waters University, Dr. A. Zachary Faison
  • Fort Valley State University, Dr. Paul Jones
  • Harris Stowe State University, Dr. LaTonia Collins Smith
  • Norfolk State University, Dr. Javaune Adams-Gaston
  • Jarvis Christian College, Dr. Lester Newman
  • Johnson C. Smith University, President Clarence Armbrister
  • Lane College, Dr. Logan Hampton
  • Lawson State Community College, Dr. Cynthia T. Anderson
  • Mississippi Valley State University, Dr. Jerryl Briggs
  • Morris Brown College, Dr. Kevin James
  • Oakwood University, Dr. Leslie Pollard
  • Prairie View A&M University, President Ruth J. Simmons
  • Rust College, Dr. Ivy Taylor
  • Saint Augustine’s University, Dr. Christine Johnson-McPhail
  • Saint Phillips Community College, Dr. Adena Williams Loston
  • Savannah State University, Dr. Kimberly Ballard-Washington
  • Shaw University, Dr. Paulette Dillard
  • Shorter College, President Jerome Green
  • Southern University and A&M College, President Dennis Shields
  • Spelman College, Dr. Helene Gayle
  • Stillman College, Dr. Cynthia Warrick
  • Tougaloo College, Dr. Carmen J. Walters
  • Trenholm State Community College, Dr. Kemba Chambers
  • Tuskegee University, Dr. Charlotte P. Morris
  • University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Dr. Heidi Anderson
  • West Virginia State University, President Ericke Cage



  • LaKeitha Anderson, Policy Director, Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck
  • Kemal Atkins, Ed. D, Delaware State University alumnus
  • Bill Broydrick, Broydrick & Associates
  • Randy Broz, Angerholzer Broz Consulting
  • Hayley Dashiell, Former HBCU National Center Coordinator
  • Marie Dennis, Clark Atlanta Alum, First Director of the Center
  • Ed Freel, Senior Fellow, longtime advocate of experiential education
  • Langston Emerson, Partner at Mindset, CBCF and Howard alumnus
  • Crispin Etherington, Gene Albert’s vision of a national center
  • Doug Greene, Sandy Spring Bank
  • Lisa Matthews, Former National Press Club Journalism Institute President
  • Maureen Hoyler, President, Council for Opportunity in Education
  • Dayna Kent, VP of Membership for the National Alumni Council of UNCF, graduate of Edward Waters University
  • Kimberly Ross, VP Federal Relations, American Council of Life Insurers
  • Emily Spain, Advocate for next-generation leadership
  • Dr. Dietra Trent, Executive Director, White House Initiative on HBCUS
  • Leonard Washington, COO, Entertainment Industry College Outreach Program
  • House & Senate members of the Bipartisan HBCU Caucus